Folklife Center

Gallery   •  Archives   •   Cultural Programs


The Folklife Center at Crandall Public Library is an award-winning program created by the Library’s Board of Trustees in 1993 and empowered with the mission to preserve and present the cultural traditions of the upper Hudson valley and southern Adirondacks of upstate New York through its gallery, archives, and cultural programs.


Folklife Gallery
Monday -- Thursday 9 am to 9 pm
Friday 9 am to 6 pm
Saturday 9 am to 5 pm and other times the Library is open

Albert W. Fowler Research Center

Monday -- Friday 10am to 12 noon, 1pm to 4pm

Tuesday evenings 5pm to 8pm

Book Sale Saturdays (see Library Calendar) and by appointment

Contact Us

Folklife Center at Crandall Public Library

251 Glen St.

Glens Falls, NY 12801

518.792.6508 x239

Todd DeGarmo, Founding Director

518.792.6508 x237

Erica Wolfe Burke, Archivist/Librarian

518.792.6508 x238

NYS Folklore Society Logo
Todd DeGarmo is the acquisitions editor for Voices: The Journal of New York Folklore. Voices, the membership magazine for the New York Folklore Society, features articles, stories, interviews, reminiscences, essays, folk poetry and music, photographs, and artwork drawn from people in all parts of New York State, folklorists and non-folklorists alike. Click the logo for more information, or contact Todd at the Library.

The Folklife Center at Crandall Public Library is a contributor to New York Heritage, a research portal providing free access to more than 170 distinct digital collections held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. There are currently hundreds of thousands of collection items on the site, including photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, newspapers, books, and more.

Click on the logo to view our contributions.

New York Heritage Logo



The Folklife Center's activities are made possible in part by financial support from the Folk Arts Program of the New York State Council on the Arts with support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.